February 03, 2014

Twelve Kingdoms (2013-14 editions)

Shinchosha is releasing revised editions of the Twelve Kingdoms series, sporting new cover art and illustrations by Akihiro Yamada. The website is in Japanese but the covers can be viewed using the "episode index" on the left.

  • Episode 0: Masho no Ko ("The Demon Child")
  • Episode 1: Tsuki no Kage, Kage no Umi ("Shadow of the Moon, A Sea of Shadows")
  • Episode 2: Kaze no Umi, MeikyĆ« no Kishi ("A Sea of Wind, Shores of the Labyrinth")
  • Episode 3: Higashi no Watatsumi, Nishi no Sokai ("Poseidon of the East, Vast Blue Seas of the West")
  • Episode 4: Kaze no Banri, Reimei no Sora ("A Thousand Leagues of Wind, The Sky at Dawn")
  • Episode 5: Hisho no Tori ("Hisho's Bird")
  • Episode 6: Tonan no Tsubasa ("The Wings of Dreams")
  • Episode 7: Kasho no Yume ("Dreaming of Paradise")
  • Episode 8: (not listed but available) Tasogare no Kishi, Akatsuki no Sora ("The Shore in Twilight, The Sky at Daybreak")

Akihiro Yamada has published a Twelve Kingdoms art book. It is available from Amazon-Japan and in the U.S. through resellers (the ISBN is 978-4103359319).