November 12, 2017

Weather Vane (1)

The cry of the semi (蝉) or cicada is a quintessential part of summers in Japan. Here is a sampling.

The political and geographical divisions of the Twelve Kingdoms.

国  Kingdom
州  Province
郡  District (comprised of 50,000 households or 4 prefectures)
郷  Prefecture (comprised of 5 counties)
県  County
党  Township
族  Town
里  Hamlet (comprised of 25 households)

Labels: , ,