January 04, 2009


A Hungarian reader provided the following historical clarification:

[The novel] describes the three sisters' travels in "Budapest, London and Paris," apparently around 1600. Budapest originally consisted of three independent cities: the old Obuda, Buda, the seat of kings, and the more "bourgeois" Pest, and did not become Budapest until 1873. So in the 1600s they would have been in Buda.

Labels: ,

# posted by Blogger Th.
1/05/2009 4:17 PM   

I think I smell an acknowledgment in the second edition....