November 21, 2020

Hills of Silver Ruins (1/26)

The Taiho is also the province lord of the capital province, hence his close connection to the provincial Rikkan. The Rei'in (令尹) is the Chief Cabinet Secretary of the Provincial Rikkan.

The Chousai (冢宰) serves as the Chief Cabinet Secretary of the Rikkan. In the governments of dynastic China, the Chousai was the Minister of Heaven and served as the minister-in-chief or prime minister. But in the Twelve Kingdoms, the Chousai need not be a member of the Rikkan. And there is the Taiho.

I think the Taiho better fits the literal meaning of prime minister. In Japan, the Chief Cabinet Secretary "coordinates the policies of ministries and agencies in the executive branch," a good description of the Chousai. Though in many kingdoms, the Chousai ends up running the government on a day-to-day basis.

I can imagine Keiki and even Youko being actively involved with the Rikkan while Shouryuu and Enki delegate most of their bureaucratic responsibilities. With the right people in charge, both approaches work.

In Japanese politics, the portfolio of the Chief Cabinet Secretary includes the duties of both the White House press secretary and the American vice-president. When Shinzo Abe resigned earlier this year, Chief Cabinet Secretary Yoshihide Suga was elected prime minister by a large margin.

Labels: , , , ,

# posted by Blogger Magi
11/24/2020 2:25 AM   
Yes! Another chapter!
One thing that really confused me though: is the chousai not the prime minister who oversees the six ministries? In the Twelve Kingdoms wiki, the Minister of Earth is called Daishito.
You're doing an amazing job. Thank you!
# posted by Anonymous Anonymous
11/24/2020 5:28 AM   
Thank you for another great chapter :)
# posted by Blogger Eugene
11/25/2020 7:31 PM   
I can't remember where I got that old definition but it did need to be corrected and updated. I have previously described the Chousai as minister-in-chief, but I'm not sure the contemporary title of prime minister applies.